News / Releases

Salesforce Summer ’23 Release Date + Preview Information

By Ben McCarthy

The sun is shining down on the land of Salesforce, and that means the Salesforce Summer ’23 release is right around the corner!

There are many agenda items you need to prepare for with each release, but at this stage, there are only a couple of things you need to know: 1) how to prepare your sandbox, and 2) when your instance will get upgraded.

Salesforce Summer ’23 Release Date

The first thing you should be aware of is when your production instance will be upgraded to the Salesforce Summer ’23 release. It’s important that you test all the main use cases in your org before this date to ensure that everything continues to work. Although Salesforce releases rarely have any major bugs, it’s important that these checks are carried out.

The Release date for Summer ’23 will depend on your instance of Salesforce, but the main release weekends are on:

  • May 6, 2023
  • June 3, 2023
  • June 10, 2023

If you already know the instance your production org is located on, you can head over to Salesforce Trust, click on your instance name, and hit “Maintenance”. This will show you the date of the Salesforce Summer ’23 release hitting your org.

If you don’t know your instance, the quickest way to find out is to head to “company information” within “Setup” in your Salesforce. If you want to know more about Salesforce instances, check out our comprehensive post about how to find yours. 

READ MORE: Which Salesforce Instance Am I On?

Summer ’23 Sandbox Preview Information

The second thing you should be aware of is how (and when) your sandbox is going to be upgraded. This is extremely important as this is the first opportunity you will get to test your system on the new release. You can sign up for a pre-release org, but these, of course, will not have any of your configurations.

Salesforce has two release windows for sandboxes, which depends on whether your sandbox is a “Preview” instance or a “Non-Preview Instance”. Stay tuned for more information on Sandbox Preview, but it looks like most sandboxes will be upgraded on May 5th and 6th, 2023.

Summer ’23 Pre-Release Org

As mentioned above, pre-release orgs are a great way to get familiar with the new release before it hits your sandboxes. For those with existing preview orgs, these are now upgraded with the Summer ’23 release, and you can login to get access to the latest features.

For those who don’t yet have a pre-release org, you can sign up for a Summer ’23 edition right here!

READ MORE: Summer ’23 Treasure Hunt: Preview Orgs Are Live!

Summer ’23 Release Notes

Although the dates mentioned above are some of the most important of the Salesforce release cycle, the most anticipated date is for the official “Salesforce Release Notes”. This is the first glimpse of the features and upgrades that are being applied across the Salesforce suite of products. The Release Notes for Summer ’23 will drop on April 26th.

Release notes can be accessed here, and make sure you sign up for our newsletter to stay informed of our top release roundup posts. 

The Author

Ben McCarthy

Ben is the Founder of Salesforce Ben. He also works as a Non-Exec Director & Advisor for various companies within the Salesforce Ecosystem.

Comments:

    Devendra vaidya
    February 21, 2023 12:32 pm
    Hi Very Informative for new entrants like myself
    Kevin Flynn
    March 20, 2023 2:29 am
    The link to the summer 23 release notes take you to the Spring 23 release notes page
    Lauren Westwood
    March 21, 2023 8:21 am
    Hi Kevin. The summer release notes are yet to be published. For now, this link leads to the most recent release notes, but we'll update this as soon as the summer '23 notes are out in the world :)
    Kelly Goffin
    April 25, 2023 10:31 am
    @Laren Westwood the Summer 23 ones are out now https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=release-notes.salesforce_release_notes.htm&release=244&type=5
    Brittanny
    April 25, 2023 4:39 pm
    Summer '23 Release Notes are out!

Leave a Reply